Some Guest reviews of CAMPSBAYGLEN

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

page 1

next page

HOME PAGE

self catering accommodation guest house camps bay cape town South Africa 

HOME
PRICES & 
RATES ACCOMMODATIONS
STUDIO A
MAIN HOUSE
STUDIO B
CORAL TREE
STUDIO C
RIVERSIDE
ACTIVITIES
GARDEN AND 
POOL AREA
PHOTO GALLERY
GUEST REVIEWS
CONTACT US
Meet the team at Camps Bay Glen

hope to see you soon!!

Make a booking or check out availability

BOOKING CALENDAR

MORE GUEST REVIEWS OF CAMPSBAYGLEN

PAGE 1 

next page

cape town self catering accommodation 47.jpg (197157 bytes) cape town self catering accommodation 46.jpg (77122 bytes)   cape town self catering accommodation 45.jpg (83473 bytes)   cape town self catering accommodation 127.jpg (101088 bytes)  cape town self catering accommodation 124.jpg (104152 bytes) cape town self catering accommodation 8.jpg (109749 bytes)

Photographs of camps bay glen

 

early morn a deck1.jpg (39095 bytes)  camps bay guest house river 1.jpg (169887 bytes) camps bay guest house river 6.jpg (115678 bytes) 

Photographs of studio A - CAMPSBAYGLEN and the riverside

 

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

 

“So lucky for finding a lovely houses and for meeting nice persons”

5 of 5 starsReviewed September 12, 2013

We are Chinese family and we arrived on the night of 28 August 2013 and we lived one week. We have to say that we are so lucky to find this house and to meet so many nice people. When we arrived, we has lost our baggage , the owner mark has helped us to contact with the airport, otherwise he also helped us for organizing the trip in Cape Town , and has send us so many useful information. A lovely guy isaak every night to check that if we have returned the guest house safe, so sweet, just like a family. The most lucky, mark let us use his main house Studio A without any fee. I love that fantastic balcony, from there we enjoying looking the sunset on the Atlantic. So beautiful! Thank you Mark, we are really like the style of your house, original, simple and natural. If we will return in South Africa , we will return your house, and anyone of Studio a, b and c, we all like.

 

CAMPSBAYGLEN IS A HIDDEN OASIS IN THE CITY!

5 of 5 starsReviewed August 12, 2012

1

person found this review helpful

A friend and I had a wonderful two-week-stay at camps bay glen. It was a perfect start on our 6 months of exchange studies here in cape town! The location is perfect, only a 10min walk to the beach, and 15min to the city centre of Cape Town by car.
The staff was really nice, Isaac the gardener was really warm and friendly and Bulelwa the housekeeper did a superb job in keeping the house neat and tidy every weekday (she really folded the clothes we left lying around, and if we didn't have time to do the dishes, she did them for us.) Mark, the owner, is a really cool person with a lot of interesting things to tell about Cape town and what to do here, and about life in general!

It is possible to contact him at their web site and to book from there:
www.campsbayglen.co.za

Camps bay glen is a perfect place to live while you're spending wonderful days in cape town if your looking for a relaxing place. Chill in the hammocks and swim in the pool after a day of adventure, while you're enjoying the sun set - it can't be better than that!

Enjoy!

 

AVAILABILITY CALENDAR
CLICK TO SEE WHAT'S AVAILABLE & BOOK  

 

Lovely Place  flip key review studio B

Left on 01/25/2013 for a stay in November 2011

I stayed in Campsbayglen for six weeks with a couple of friends and enjoyed every day in this apartment and Studio a. It is located in a very good area of Camps bay (the best part of cape town). The surrounding infrastructure is excellent. There are several shops where you can buy food (also on Sundays) or clothes.

The apartment is near by the beach, so that you can reach it by foot in approximately 5 Minutes. Additionally it will take you about 10 Minutes by car to get into the main part of Cape town.

The apartment itself is a very relaxing place. There are quite a lot of cosy hammocks where you can enjoy the warm sun. There is a huge patio. You can have a wonderful sea view from the patio and nearly every room (except kitchen and bathrooms). The apartments interior is designed in a unique, Africa like style - really a lovely place. You will soon feel comfortable and enjoy your stay. The apartment has every kind of equipment you need to get along. There was nothing we missed (Good kitchen, barbecue and corresponding equipment, pool stuff, towels, bedding, washing machine, dryer, parking lots). The house is secured by grates (every house in Camps bay is secured like this and I was happy to have this stuff in the house) and a security company (ADT armed response). There are panic buttons in nearly every room. So you don't have to be afraid of gangsters.

The owner of the house (Mark) is a very nice guy. He did everything for us to feel comfortable and his service was great. He gave us a lot of hints what we can and should do in cape town - not just the ordinary tourist stuff, but also cool activities only insider know. So if you are looking for a crazy adventure = ask Mark ;-)

To summarize, we had a great time in Camps bay and felt very comfortable due to the unique style of the house and Marks and Bulelwa's service.

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Studio B flip key review STUDIO B  This flat in Camps Bay Was Magical

Left on 06/21/2012 for a stay in June 2012

While visiting Cape Town for my daughter's graduation, we rented Studio a at Campsbayglen for several nights. The accommodation was amazing. We felt we were living in a tree house overlooking stunning Camps Bay. We especially liked the privacy the foliage and flowers around the property provided. We would have loved to use the pool had we been there in summer--next trip. The hammocks and beautiful hand-made deck furniture gave it a special touch. The flat was comfortable with a fully equipped kitchen, dining room for 8, interesting artwork and breathtaking views throughout. We enjoyed meals with our friends each evening with a warm fire in the indoor fireplace. The winter nights are quite cool in Cape Town. You won't be disappointed with this accommodation. We only wish we could have stayed longer.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

 

CAMPSBAYGLEN IS FUN AND ORIGINAL !  4 of 5 starsReviewed August 29, 2013 NEW

We stayed in Main House (A) . Down-to-earth self catering with personal and original decorating and facilities.
Kids loved the pool area, the hammocks and the deck. They fought to sleep in the fifth bed setup in the living room.

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

 CAMPSBAYGLEN self catering accommodation - stayed in studio B - the coral tree

 

“Perfect CT spot”

5 of 5 starsReviewed July 29, 2013

I lived in Cape Town for 10 years, and visited again over December 2012. I searched LOADS of places on TA etc, comparing price vs. location vs. amenities. I was on a limited budget, but am past my backpacking days. I didn't want to stay at a BnB and couldn't afford a hotel with a balcony and a sea view - which to me is what CT is all about - watching the sunset. I know the area well and Camps Bay is by far the best part of Cape Town. I was looking for a place near the beach, with a pool and fairly quick access to central - I had a car. Your needs obviously might not be mine but this place was absolutely perfect. 10/10.

I read some of these reviews and am stunned at what people expect for the price. If you want a front desk, stay at a hotel. It's basic, but everything works. The location is the winner here. It might not suit older people who struggle with stairs - there are about 20 steps down to the pool - and OMG they're not all symmetrical. Yes there is a security gate (What? People who complain about having a security gate are the same people who complain when something is stolen. I lived in CT so believe me security is a REAL issue. We felt safe here.)

Anyway, it was a really cool stay. You might need a car - 5 min drive to Camps Bay, 15 minute drive to Central CT, 10 min drive to Llandudno. You could walk if you're fit or get a taxi. For the price you couldn't do better. I looked at loads of places and I know the area. Trust me. 

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

 

 

AVAILABILITY CALENDAR :- CLICK TO SEE WHAT'S AVAILABLE & BOOK  

“oh cape town and camps bay glen!”

5 of 5 starsReviewed July 15, 2013

The hospitality in South Africa I found far exceeded anywhere else I have visited in the world, a genuine desire for you to have a welcoming, unforgettable and vibrant experience. Camps Bay Glen provided a homely, comfortable and clean accommodation experience. We loved relaxing amongst the natural surrounds, hammocks, deck chairs and pool, whilst revelling in the view of the Bay. Camps Bay Glen renewed my inner energy to continually explore all of what Cape town has to offer. Mark you are a unique, personable host who I will never forget, your recommendations are what made our trip to Cape town.

Room Tip: We stayed in Studio C which I loved due to location to surrounds.

Book directly on Camps Bay Glen website www.campsbayglen.co.za

You must book directly at www.campsbayglen.net or www.campsbayglen.co.za

 

 

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

“Great time in Camps camps bay glen”

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 4, 2013

The Main House is amazing. Nice,clean,quiet and peaceful. great view as well. We were 3 couples and we rent the main house and the studio C. It was perfect. It is all fully equipped. The Owner is very friendly and helpful, he knows very well all the region and more in the country, can give you a lot of information. The situation is perfect, close to everything. Sure we will come again....

 

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

 

 

“Campsbayglen revisited”

5 of 5 starsReviewed January 23, 2013

We came back for the 3. time and stayed in our favourite Cape Town 'home' for a week.
There have been some major improvements implemented by Mark, not changing the original style of 'non-posh', down-to-earth self-catering, with a breath-taking view from the terraces.
... and only 10 walking minutes away from the oyster crowd on Camps bay beach, should you feel the need to mingle with them :-)
This is our last year in the country - thanks, Mark, for some unforgettable holidays at the Cape!

Room Tip: Only the A apartment gives unrestricted access to the terrace

See more room tips

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

 

AVAILABILITY CALENDAR :- CLICK TO SEE WHAT'S AVAILABLE & BOOK  

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY”

5 of 5 starsReviewed January 12, 2013 NEW

We ( a couple ) ages 38 & 68 were in Cape Town just before Christmas 2012 for nearly 3 weeks and stayed for most of our stay at Campsbayglen -- Life is what you make it and this depends on what makes you as an individual tick and also how much you want to pay to achieve your aims!! if you are looking for 5 star luxury accommodation this is not the place for you , but if your looking for a place to stay away from the crowds ,comfortable, quiet with a pool -trees for shade and hammocks etc with excellent WIFI and that is good value compared to other locations we looked at - THIS COULD BE THE PLACE FOR YOU - prior to booking our stay we of course read all the reviews on this place and many others
Most of the reviews on Campsbayglen are our opinion are just about right - it is not perfect and some things could be improved ( we left a small list ) but having travelled over a lot of the world, I think that this can be said for most places that one stays as a tourist and unless of course you are going to pay top dollar for 5 star and if you are reading this your not expecting to - its very good value . If you have any questions I would suggest you do as I did contact him direct on email or phone him direct - Cheap way to do this below
Regarding security -yes it does have a gate and some security wire but do not let these remarks put you off at all, the old saying applies BETTER SAFE THAN SORRY Most places we found in Cape Town and all the other areas have the same or a lot more security and I can only state as we found It .The area is very safe as it seems it is in Camps Bay in general and we did not feel insecure at anytime . During our stay we were in both studios (and the main house ) which Mark let us use for a couple of nights as it was empty
Each studio different to the other each one more than adequate although our favourite was studio C great for 2 people . Campsbayglen has a lot going for it and is also within walking distance of Camps Bay ,I noticed some idiot in one review complained it was an up hill walk on the way back --its next to a bloody mountain!! so don't walk - drive or get a cab!! The owner Mark is great guy and very helpful as are the staff Isaac ( who is always happy ) and Bulelwa -happy and helpful any problems tell them and they will get them sorted out with Mark. All in all a very good place to stay - just an after thought - Cape Town and Camps Bay as a holiday is great everywhere very clean and good service ( like the UK used to be ) - great restaurants and we are going back again next year and also if you have to phone back to the UK as I did for business -forget Skype ( rubbish ) and download to your mobile or tablet - VOIP 007 and use on WIFI only - very reliable and VERY cheap. .If you are going Mossel Bay contact Links2 guest house - Amazing place !! Hope this review helps if you need anymore ask Mark for my email Carl & Monica -London UK

Less

 

 

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

 

“Wonderfull place”

5 of 5 starsReviewed December 8, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay. Friendly people who are always there if you need help,
The apartment are clean and give you everything you need.
There is a lovely swimming pool with such a nice view on the ocean.

The location was nice, In a very safe neighbourhood, the apartment itself are also very well secured. Close to the beach and the strip of Camps Bay where you can find all the restaurants and the taxi's to the city centre of CT.

In short, I would go back anytime!

Less

 

 

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

AVAILABILITY CALENDAR :- CLICK TO SEE WHAT'S AVAILABLE & BOOK  

 

 

“A beautiful hidden oasis”

5 of 5 starsReviewed November 26, 2012

Campsbayglen is one of the nicest places we have holidayed as a family. We are two adults and two boisterous boys (6 and 8), so we appreciated the spaciousness. The property has several different areas: the (large) bedrooms, the kitchen/dining room area, the deck, the pool and the river site. The overall feel is slightly rustic, with a lot of soul and good energy: it does not (thankfully) give the impression of being a hyper-modern, yuppie apartment like others we saw in Camps Bay, but instead feels like someone's much-loved home. I'd also like to point out that the security systems were well thought-out, and made us feel safe without being in any way intrusive. Finally, I'll add that the caretaker and cleaning staff were fantastic--very efficient and super-friendly, and the owner was extremely helpful, welcoming and professional. I wish we were back on the deck now, watching the sunset! But that will have to wait for next year.

Less

Thanks, you've already rated this review

 

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

 

“A wonderful place”

4 of 5 starsReviewed November 16, 2012

I've been in Campsbayglen in August. Even if it was winter, the room was well warmed. You have also a wonderful view of the sea from the balcony. Staff were very friendly! And the price was very reasonable. The sea is 500m far from the room. A great value for money!!

Thank you for your vote

 

 

 

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

 

 

 review of CAMPSBAYGLEN self catering holiday villa cape town area camps bay Atlantic coast

Camps bay glen review by :- Dee M Ireland & Germany Frankfurt

“A place to feed your soul”
Campsbayglen


Amazing gem of a place. Centrally located, yet totally quiet & beyond beautiful. 
I stayed there for 2 weeks & can honestly say they were amongst the best 2 weeks of my life. 
If you are looking for glam, marble, blah, blah, blah forget it but if you are looking for natural beauty in an awesome setting, book this now before anyone else does.
I stayed in The Riverside apartment, did my yoga practise, meditated, read and then when I wanted to I went off to Cape Town or down to Camps Bay for beautiful meals & sight seeing. 
In a word - WOW! 
Also, it has blazing Wi-Fi and a very gracious & attentive host.


xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx ACCOMMODATION CAPE TOWN GUEST REVIEWS for SELF CATERING ACCOMMODATION CAMPS BAY xxxxxxxxxx

review on CAMPSBAYGLEN
“A great place with great people...”
Campsbayglen

Art_Barr 
Loris, South Carolina. USA 

First of all I would like to say that Mark was an excellent host, even before we arrived he went out his way to help accommodate our needs, and while we were there he made sure that we were comfortable and well.

For those of you that are looking for a down to earth, warm and cosy experience, this is a fantastic place to stay! 
We stayed in the main house, which was very ample and comfortable. 
Every room has a spectacular view of the coast, we loved watching the sunset everyday, even when it was cloudy and rainy, it was a sight to be seen!
Pretty much everything you need is close by, grocery store, pharmacy, etc and within walking distance. The beautiful beaches are also a short walk away. 
The unit is provided with a book, I like to think of it as an "Owner's manual" with detailed maps of the area and things to do as well as useful information about the apartment, etc. 
The unit also has mostly everything you would have doubts about clearly labelled which made it very user friendly.

The outside grounds are nothing short of amazing. 
He has tried to keep the place as rustic as possible, differentiating itself from the other "Resort Style" places that surround Camps Bay. 
In general the entire place feels more like a home, warm and comforting unlike other places that have a sterile and artificial feeling to them. 
If you are the kind of person that prefers a Sandals resort like environment, this is not the place for you. However, if you are a person that enjoys nature and a more simple life style, you will absolutely fall in love with Camps Bay Glen.

Regarding the Mark's staff, we had the pleasure to meet Bulelwa, who was our house keeper and Peter, who is a former employee of Marks. 
Peter is retired but must work a little on the side as a driver to make ends meet. For a reasonable price, Peter will drive you around for the day, take you grocery shopping and in general anywhere you need to go. He will wait for you; pick you up as needed etc all for a flat daily rate. If you don't rent a car, he definitely the way to go! Bulelwa is a friendly and warm person who took great care of us and straightened up after us as needed, we hardly knew she was there. Also for a reasonable price she will do your laundry (a great job too, by the way).

The only regret that we have was not being able to go hiking and exploring when Mark invited us due to medical reasons. We would have loved to see the forest and explored some of the places he offered to take us, but we hope to make up for it the next time we visit Camps Bay Glen.

If you plan to have an extended stay, as we did, it is well worth your while to contact Mark directly, he will more than likely give you a terrific unadvertised rate!

Thanks Mark!!! 

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx Self catering accommodation in cape town. a place to stay in camps bay cape town guest review camps bay glen. 

 

Campsbayglen comment by Dubai traveller 

A little house on the hills - an absolute dream!  

Save Review 5 of 5 stars CAMPSBAYGLEN TRIPADVISOR REVIEW. GUEST HOUSE CAMPS BAY .  CAPE TOWN SELF CATERING ACCOMMODATION.

PLACE TO STAY CAPE TOWN

sayed Saad  aadinxs   1 contribution

Dubai

26 Jul 2010 | Trip type: Friends getaway New

The last thing I told Mark before me and a group of friends left was 'Mate, you need to charge more for this coz this is an absolute steal'. Sucks for those reading it but explains why this is probably the best deal in South Africa (trust me, I checked). The house is quite rustic, but has all amenities (blazing wifi too!) and has a lot of character, like its handmade over a number of years. Lots of personal touches. Great view and a very good location. Mark is a great host, bursting with ideas for excursions for the outdoor-inclined. For anyone planning a trip, I cannot recommend 'The Glen' highly enough, it will make your time memorable (plan at least a week as cape town has lots of things to do).

Cape town is the most beautiful place I've been to (I am counting Europe in this comparison) and its definitely worth another visit, guess where I'll be staying?

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

CAMPSBAYGLEN TRIPADVISOR REVIEW. GUEST HOUSE CAMPS BAY .  CAPE TOWN SELF CATERING ACCOMMODATION.

camps bay guest house self catering accommodation 

Amazing place, location and owner  

kelly kennedy.jpg (71892 bytes)    self catering accommodation cape town a 1.jpg (62109 bytes) 

 Save Review 5 of 5 stars

Kelly kgkenn   4 contributions

New York City , New York

17 Jul 2010 | Trip type: Couples

Campsbayglen is a house divided into 3 rentals that is right in the heart of camps bay.  It's a 12 minute walk to several beaches, restaurants, grocery store, etc and 20 minute walk to table mountain.  The house itself is really nice and divided up so that each rental is very private.  There is an amazing pool with upper and lower deck - lounge chairs, cool grill, big outdoor tables, outdoor showers, an outdoor bath and tons of hammocks made by the owner himself. the pool area is beautifully landscaped and very lush. The rentals have all the normal stuff - we rented the one bedroom (with an extra bed in the kitchen/living room. the shower and bath was good, we had our own private deck in addition to the big ones, very secure, good kitchen stuff, good linens and room heaters.  In additional to all of this, the owner is amazing. He's a gregarious guy who will do anything for his guests - he can be involved (or uninvolved) as you want. He showed us all around camps bay in his car, gave tips for hiking lion's head, told us about nearby unknown beaches and we even ended up going camping with him and his friends on the whale trail.  He's is a real crocodile hunter type and made our cape town adventure better.

Camps bay is a posh area of cape town - most rentals are very expensive and fancy. Camps Bay Glen is more affordable and also more down to earth - very comfortable, but no marble floors or the like. it's an amazing spot and in our year long travels around the world, this was one of our favourite places to stay.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx Review of CAMPS BAY GLEN self catering guest house cape town  heather USA xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

reviews self catering cape town.jpg (108318 bytes)  

 click to enlarge and read. 

Dear Mark 

We cant thank you enough for helping us out, your kindness and hospitality.  I know that we would find it very hard to find such a place that is both beautiful and run by down to earth people.  It was a pleasure to meet Bulelwa (house care) and Peter (driver), whom were both great people and I would recommend that anyone hire peter or Bulelwa the extras that they may need.   We wish you the best of luck and hope that you may be able to preserve the natural elements that surround Campsbayglen  and make of this place an oasis amid the Asphalt jungle. Kind regards and thanks again Arthur and Heather USA

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Camps bay glen review. Heckys Kentucky USA

Thanks for a great stay! Fantastic location and outstanding views!  

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Helen and Greg March UK

We stayed at Camps Bay Glen for four nights, our only regret being that we hadn't stayed for longer! We fell in love with our studio. Felt so at home. We both agreed we could have lived there it was so comfortable and nicely decorated! Really lovely rustic, feel with everything you need. The bed was the most comfortable we'd slept in of our entire six week trip around Asia and Africa! The decking and hammock made it feel really luxurious with views of the waterfall and ocean.
Cathleen was a great help, introducing us to the studio and some local activities. Bulelwa the house keeper came in everyday and kept the studio in perfect condition for us.
Mark the owner was very accommodating on our last day, and allowed us to leave our luggage in a spare room so we could go out for the day after check out time.
We felt very safe and happy here and I cannot recommend it highly enough. We are definitely going to come back, and I have already recommended the Glen to some of my family and customers.
Thank you again Mark and everyone.

CAMPSBAYGLEN Self catering accommodation guest house Cape town near the beach.    Guest reports

 

ROSS AND PAUL Fantastic place to stay in rustic ambience when on a budget

We had a wonderful time at Camps Bay Glen in Studio B which we would thoroughly recommend for a couple. Very comfortable accommodation with wonderful views. We were fortunate to have the large pool almost to ourselves with only another couple in the main house.  We love what Mark and his team are trying to do at Camps Bay Glen - affordable accommodation while preserving the wildlife and plant life of the area.
We would have no hesitation in recommending Camps Bay Glen.

Ealing London 1 contribution London

Mar 30, 2010 | Trip type: Couples
 

CAMPSBAYGLEN Self catering guest house    Guest reports

GUEST:- DAVID BRAUN  & PHOTOGRAPHIC PRODUCTION CREW )

Dear Mark

...  the entire film crew enjoyed staying at Campsbayglen, we as you know are in the visual field and fell in love with your lovely guesthouse the minute we walked through the door.

We have travelled the world and stayed in many fine hotels but the view from your deck has got to be one of the finest we have ever had the pleasure of seeing. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious,  the breakfast provided to us  at the crack of dawn was ample and even though the stay was short it was most memorable. (NOTE THAT THE BREAKFAST WAS SPECIALLY PRE-ARRANGED FOR THE CREW)

Once again thank you for the hospitality and we will certainly stay at your lovely guesthouse when ever we have the good fortune to film in your wonderful city.

Warm regards
David Braun.
David Braun Photography.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx     CAMPSBAYGLEN GUEST REVIEWS      camps bay   cape town     xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

GUEST:- Spider, South Africa
Firstly, Mark is a fantastic host. No request is too big. He's there to cater for your every request. Gamps Bay Glen is a large rustic house in Camps Bay, bordering the nature reserve. The wooden deck overlooks a river, the swimming pool, natural forest and ocean. The deck also receives direct light from the sun, perfect for sundowners.

The deck also has a secret, a big outside bath tub, perfect for romantic outdoor bubble baths. The downstairs pool features bamboo shading and hammocks. It is set next to a flowing natural river which has garden access. Being on the Camps Bay / Nature Reserve is an interesting experience.

On one hand, you're facing pristine natural beauty, set underneath the majestic Twelve Apostles section of Table Mountain and above the unspoilt Oudekraal coastline. On the other hand, you're a 12 minute walk from the Camps Bay "Palm Beach, Miami-Style" promenade, with it's myriad of white beaches, great restaurants and evening events - most noted a wicked ice-cream emporium called Sinful Ice-cream Emporium.

All in all, a great stay. It's well priced and I'll go there as often as I can.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx    CAMPSBAYGLEN GUEST REVIEWS      camps bay   cape town 

GUEST:- Hannah Austin, United Kingdom
 

- Fantastic!!!! - 22 March 2007
Had a fantastic time Shirley was a great host, it was such a lovely place! Thanks Again for everything
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx       CAMPSBAYGLEN GUEST REVIEWS      camps bay   cape town 
 

GUEST:- Juliet Rix LONDON UK

Mark...I truly had a wonderful time staying there, you have a very special place with a lovely positive energy. I have come back very energized and focused on where i need to be and what I need to be doing, that was the purpose of my time out in CT and I have achieved it and I think largely to do with my choice of where to stay! So thanks again.. 

Public Guestbook Details & Comments and grading: ABSOLUTELY STUNNING!! is how I would describe Camps Bay Glen. What a beautiful tranquil retreat. A perfect place for rejuvenating and yet just a stones throw from the lively buzz that Camps Bay has to offer. Restaurants, night life, amazing beaches all just around the corner. Yet you can come “home” to your little piece of paradise. I stayed in Studio A (main house) and the views and beauty that I experienced are just breathtaking. There is a huge pool to cool off in and a Braai (Barbeque) area by the pool for your use. There is also a beautiful river & waterfall at the end of the garden, very peaceful & relaxing. Sitting on the deck and just taking in the nature & beauty is a truly unique experience. Mark is a fantastic host and the house is very well equipped and spacious. I travel frequently to Cape Town and have stayed in many places in Camps Bay and other parts but this is one place that I will most definitely visit again and would highly recommend it. If you are looking for a rustic peaceful place with an amazing atmosphere and some of the most stunning scenery you can experience in Cape Town yet with in close proximity to all attractions then CAMPSBAYGLEN is most definitely the place for you.

Guest Rating: 100%

Overall

 

5/5

Security

 

5/5

Friendliness

 

5/5

Cleanliness

 

5/5

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx    CAMPSBAYGLEN GUEST REVIEWS      camps bay   cape town 

AVAILABILITY CALENDAR :- CLICK TO SEE WHAT'S AVAILABLE & BOOK  

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Farquharson, Andrew  - A returning guest from SCOTLAND.....(stayed in Studio A) 

....Fantastic; just knowing that a couple of weeks of pure tranquillity will be coming at the end of the year will make work and the London weather a lot easier to handle.

I'm glad we were good guests as I really felt a connection to the place; even if I now live in about as urban a place as it's possible to live, my roots are still in the wilds of rural Scotland, so I love the physical structure of Campsbayglen with basic wood everywhere and views straight to the sea. Staying in Campsbayglen was truly a magical, tranquil experience. It felt like living almost in the forest but an easy 10 minutes walk from all the restaurants and bars of Camps Bay.  Even though the Campsbayglen house is at the end of a street of architecturally amazing modern houses; it's also right on the edge of a beautiful nature reserve and once you're inside the house, it's impossible to see anything but trees and wildlife and sea from any of the windows or many wooden decks or the beautiful pool.  We stayed in two-bed roomed Studio A which was a huge amount of space for two people but worth it to have the amazing outside deck with views to the sea and outdoor shower and bath (which were used much more often than the two indoor versions)!   It's not a luxury "designer" house but our host, Mark has created a fantastically quirky and comfortable space with real character and I hope to be relaxing in perfect bliss in one of the hammocks by the pool same time next year.

Best wishes

Andrew

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx    CAMPSBAYGLEN GUEST REVIEWS      camps bay   cape town 

Dave and Tash (Stayed in Studio C)

Hi Mark

Thank you for your cosy place in Camps Bay. Our Studio C you provided us was the tranquil perfection we were looking for. We found it a relief to have the sound of the river and numerous bird calls juxtaposed with our energised zig zag holiday fun in Cape Town and surrounding areas. We can see that you have put a lot of effort into creating this feeling with the relaxing hammock on our private deck and the wonderful forest atmosphere you have created on the premises. We really enjoyed snuggling in our little haven of happiness as your guest house ensured a relaxed, romantic stay for us in Cape Town.

 Thanks again

Dave and Tash

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx   CAMPSBAYGLEN GUEST REVIEWS      camps bay   cape town 

Jette and Jorge (Stayed in Coral Tree) Studio B

Camps Bay Glen has a fine position with Atlantic-view, and 12 min. from the City-Bowl. A house with plenty of outdoor space, and a fine pool-area. Peaceful and quiet nature with a stream. You can choose between quiet a few different places for breakfast and sundowners. In studio A You can have a hot outdoor bath looking at the sunset. A place you want to return to.   My family already have booked again for next year. A wireless Internet connection "secure a link to the civilisation", and make this nature-pearl something special. But, if you are looking for slippery marble floors, and golden taps ...... you had better find another place! My best regards Jørgen Haugaard Copenhagen - Denmark

Jette Haugaard, Denmark

self catering place to stay cape town 1.jpg (98916 bytes)


xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx 
CAMPSBAYGLEN GUEST REVIEWS      camps bay   cape town

self catering accommodation cape town a 4.jpg (65688 bytes)  self catering accommodation cape town a 2.jpg (54254 bytes)  self catering place to stay cape town 6.jpg (38279 bytes)  self catering place to stay cape town 2.jpg (79587 bytes) self catering place to stay cape town 4.jpg (54217 bytes)  self catering accommodation cape town a 12.jpg (84752 bytes) 

 self catering place to stay cape town 5.jpg (66347 bytes)    self catering accommodation cape town 3.jpg (101117 bytes)  self catering accommodation cape town a 10.jpg (143994 bytes)   self catering accommodation cape town a 14.jpg (105592 bytes)  self catering accommodation cape town a 15.jpg (77890 bytes)  self catering accommodation cape town a 17.jpg (61494 bytes)

 self catering accommodation cape town a 19.jpg (83577 bytes)   self catering accommodation cape town a 6.jpg (55575 bytes)   self catering accommodation cape town a 9.jpg (56837 bytes)    self catering place to stay cape town 3.jpg (86603 bytes) 

 

Above are some photos of south Africa of the WHALE Trail...stuff I would like to do more off...Hikes, camping and exploring sometime in the future. The trails here in South Africa are spectacular - really world class!~

hope to see you soon!!

Make a booking or check out availability

BOOKING CALENDAR

 

MORE GUEST REVIEWS OF CAMPSBAYGLEN

self catering accommodation cape town gallery of pictures

Page 1

next page

HOME PAGE